New President chosen at AGM

Posted: 12 September 2018

The 2018 Annual General Meeting of the congregation held on September 2 saw the election of a new President, as well as several other changes to the make-up of the seven-member Board of Managment that included the welcome return of a former President.

Susan Steenbergen is the new President. Susan, a long-time member of the congregation, has served on the Board since 2006, most notably as Secretary for eight years from 2008.

She was the only candidate for the position, which was vacated by former President Jordana Schmidt in April due to ill-health, about the same time that former Treasurer Kalanit Mayer was forced to resign as a result of competing demands on her time from her day-job and from building a house.

Susan is now retired, but was formerly a government worker. Her election as President is the culmination of her years of service to the congregation. In addition to her Board responsibilities, she is also a member of the team of lay leaders for Progressive services, acts as our unofficial shammes, and has often taken the lead in the cleaning and maintenance of the synagogue.

David Clark, formerly and for many years the congregation’s Vice-President, generously stood in as Acting President until a permanent replacement could be chosen at the AGM. He has now returned to his previous position as Vice-President.

Those present at the AGM were delighted to learn that Jordana’s health had been restored to the point she felt able to nominate for one of the three positions for non-Executive members of the Board, to which she was duly elected.

In other Board changes flowing from the AGM:

  • Jeff Schneider, who was appointed as Acting Treasurer after Kalanit’s resignation, was confirmed in the role. Jeff, a professional web developer who has designed and continues to administer the shul’s website, joined the Board as a non-Executive member at the 2017 AGM and is the proud father of two young children, Evan and Abby.
  • Louise Knopman was replaced as Secretary by Sean Ladiges, who first joined the Board in May to fill the vacancy resulting from Jeff’s assumption of the role of Acting Treasurer. Sean grew up and had his bar-mitzvah in Hobart, and after a stint on the mainland returned in 2017 in time for the birth of his daugher Netta.
  • Louise for her part has not left the Board completely, but instead has joined Jordana as a non-Executive member. The third non-Executive member is shul stalwart Laurence Herst, who fills the vacancy created when Lev Fridgant decided not to stand for re-election.

More information about the membership of the 2018-19 Board is available here.