Welcome to the Hobart Synagogue.
The oldest synagogue still in use in Australia—and the Southern Hemisphere—is home to the Hobart Hebrew Congregation. We've served the Jewish community of Tasmania since 1845, and our first minutes dating to 1842 are held along with other early documents at the State Archives.

Please join us for prayer, a visit, or social events. Our congregation comprises Orthodox as well as Progressive members, and we're delighted to offer regular services in both traditions.

You can support our activities by making a donation or leaving a bequest.

And if you live in Tasmania, help us to shape the next phase of our existence by becoming a member.


59 Argyle Street
Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone: 0431 902 929 (Aus)
                 61 431 902 929 (Int)

Services


Sat 25

Orthodox Shabbat Shacharit Service

Saturday, 25 November @ 10:30 am - 11:30 am
Dec 02

Progressive Shabbat Shacharit Service

Saturday, 2 December @ 9:30 am - 10:30 am
Dec 02

Orthodox Shabbat Shacharit Service

Saturday, 2 December @ 10:30 am - 11:30 am
Dec 08

Progressive Erev Shabbat Service (shared supper to follow)

Friday, 8 December @ 6:15 pm - 7:15 pm
Dec 09

Orthodox Shabbat Shacharit Service

Saturday, 9 December @ 10:30 am - 11:30 am
Dec 23

Orthodox Shabbat Shacharit Service

Saturday, 23 December @ 10:30 am - 11:30 am
Dec 30

Orthodox Shabbat Shacharit Service

Saturday, 30 December @ 10:30 am - 11:30 am

Events


Sun 26

Family Fun Morning

Sunday, 26 November @ 10:30 am - 12:30 pm
Dec 17

2017 Hanukkah Picnic

Sunday, 17 December @ 11:30 am - 4:00 pm

News


View more...

Upcoming Tours


Sun 19

Tour of Hobart Synagogue

Sunday, 19 November @ 3:30 pm - 4:30 pm
Wed 29

Tour of Hobart Synagogue

Wednesday, 29 November @ 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Dec 11

Tour of Hobart Synagogue

Monday, 11 December @ 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Dec 18

Tour of Hobart Synagogue

Monday, 18 December @ 9:30 am - 10:30 am