Welcome to the Hobart Synagogue.
The oldest synagogue still in use in Australia—and the Southern Hemisphere—is home to the Hobart Hebrew Congregation. We've served the Jewish community of Tasmania since 1845, and our first minutes dating to 1842 are held along with other early documents at the State Archives.

Please join us for prayer, a visit, or social events. Our congregation comprises Orthodox as well as Progressive members, and we're delighted to offer regular services in both traditions.

You can support our activities by making a donation or leaving a bequest.

And if you live in Tasmania, help us to shape the next phase of our existence by becoming a member.


59 Argyle Street
Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone: 0431 902 929 (Aus)
                 61 431 902 929 (Int)

Services


Sat 24

Orthodox Shabbat Shacharit Service

Saturday, 24 February @ 10:30 am - 11:30 am
Mar 03

Progressive Shabbat Shacharit Service

Saturday, 3 March @ 9:30 am - 10:30 am
Mar 03

Orthodox Shabbat Shacharit Service

Saturday, 3 March @ 10:30 am - 11:30 am
Mar 09
Mar 10

Orthodox Shabbat Shacharit Service

Saturday, 10 March @ 10:30 am - 11:30 am
Mar 17

Progressive Shabbat Shacharit Service

Saturday, 17 March @ 9:30 am - 10:30 am
Mar 17

Orthodox Shabbat Shacharit Service

Saturday, 17 March @ 10:30 am - 11:30 am
Mar 24

Orthodox Shabbat HaGadol Shacharit Service

Saturday, 24 March @ 10:30 am - 11:30 am
Mar 31

Orthodox First Day Pesach Shacharit Service

Saturday, 31 March @ 10:30 am - 11:30 am
Apr 07

Progressive Shabbat Shacharit Service

Saturday, 7 April @ 9:30 am - 10:30 am

Events


Mar 04

Purim Picnic 2018

Sunday, 4 March @ 11:30 am - 4:00 pm
Apr 13

Communal Shabbat Dinner

Friday, 13 April @ 7:15 pm - 9:00 pm

News


View more...

Upcoming Tours


To book a new tour or apply to join an existing one, please read our tour information page, from which you can complete a tour booking form.

Mon 26

Tour of Hobart Synagogue

Monday, 26 February @ 11:00 am
Mar 01

School Tour of Hobart Synagogue

Thursday, 1 March @ 1:30 pm
Mar 02

Tour of Hobart Synagogue

Friday, 2 March @ 10:00 am