Welcome to the Hobart Synagogue.
The oldest synagogue still in use in Australia—and the Southern Hemisphere—is home to the Hobart Hebrew Congregation. We've served the Jewish community of Tasmania since 1845, and our first minutes dating to 1842 are held along with other early documents at the State Archives.

Please join us for prayer, a visit, or social events. Our congregation comprises Orthodox as well as Progressive members, and we're delighted to offer regular services in both traditions.

You can support our activities by making a donation or leaving a bequest.

And if you live in Tasmania, help us to shape the next phase of our existence by becoming a member.


59 Argyle Street
Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone: 0466 434 620 (Aus)
                 61 466 434 620 (Int)

Services


Fri 14

Progressive Erev Shabbat Service (shared supper to follow)

Friday, 14 December @ 6:15 pm - 7:15 pm
Sat 15

Orthodox Shabbat Shacharit Service

Saturday, 15 December @ 10:30 am - 11:30 am
Sat 22

Orthodox Shabbat Shacharit Service

Saturday, 22 December @ 10:30 am - 11:30 am
Sat 29

Orthodox Shabbat Shacharit Service

Saturday, 29 December @ 10:30 am - 11:30 am
Jan 05

Progressive Shabbat Shacharit Service

Saturday, 5 January, 2019 @ 9:30 am - 10:30 am
Jan 05

Orthodox Shabbat Shacharit Service (light kiddush to follow)

Saturday, 5 January, 2019 @ 10:30 am - 11:30 am
Jan 12

Orthodox Shabbat Shacharit Service

Saturday, 12 January, 2019 @ 10:30 am - 11:30 am
Jan 18

Progressive Erev Shabbat Service (communal meal to follow)

Friday, 18 January, 2019 @ 6:15 pm - 7:15 pm
Jan 19

Orthodox Shabbat Shacharit Service

Saturday, 19 January, 2019 @ 10:30 am - 11:30 am
Jan 26

Orthodox Shabbat Shacharit Service

Saturday, 26 January, 2019 @ 10:30 am - 11:30 am

Events


Jan 13

Author Talk: Reds Under the Bed

Sunday, 13 January, 2019 @ 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Jan 18

Communal Shabbat Dinner

Friday, 18 January, 2019 @ 7:15 pm - 9:00 pm
Mar 17

Purim Picnic 2019

Sunday, 17 March, 2019 @ 11:30 am - 4:00 pm

News


View more...

Upcoming Tours


Fri 14

Tour of Hobart Synagogue

Friday, 14 December @ 5:00 pm
Tue 18

Tour of Hobart Synagogue

Tuesday, 18 December @ 10:00 am
Fri 21

Tour of Hobart Synagogue

Friday, 21 December @ 9:00 am
Fri 21

Tour of Hobart Synagogue

Friday, 21 December @ 1:00 pm
Mon 24

Tour of Hobart Synagogue

Monday, 24 December @ 2:30 pm
Wed 26

Tour of Hobart Synagogue

Wednesday, 26 December @ 1:00 pm
Jan 07

Tour of Hobart Synagogue

Monday, 7 January, 2019 @ 10:00 am
Jan 08

Tour of Hobart Synagogue

Tuesday, 8 January, 2019 @ 11:30 am
Jan 21

Tour of Hobart Synagogue

Monday, 21 January, 2019 @ 11:00 am
Jan 29

Tour of Hobart Synagogue

Tuesday, 29 January, 2019 @ 10:00 am

To book a new tour or apply to join an existing one, please read our tour information page, from which you can complete a tour booking form.