Welcome to the Hobart Synagogue.
The Hobart Hebrew Congregation—a vibrant community from both Progressive and Orthodox traditions—are custodians to the oldest synagogue in Australia. We've served the Tasmanian Jewish Community since the convict era, with the synagogue consecrated in 1845.

Please join us for prayer, a visit, or social events, and if you live in Tasmania, help us continue to grow by becoming a member.


Services


Fri 20
Sat 21

Orthodox Shabbat Shacharit Service

Saturday, 21 September @ 10:30 am - 11:30 am
Sat 28

Orthodox Shabbat Shacharit Service (light kiddush to follow)

Saturday, 28 September @ 10:30 am - 11:30 am
Sun 29

Progressive Erev Rosh Hashanah Service

Sunday, 29 September @ 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Mon 30

Progressive Rosh Hashanah Morning Service

Monday, 30 September @ 10:30 am - 1:00 pm
Oct 05

Orthodox Shabbat Shacharit Service

Saturday, 5 October @ 10:30 am - 11:30 am
Oct 08

Progressive Kol Nidrei Service

Tuesday, 8 October @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Oct 09

Progressive Yom Kippur Shacharit Service

Wednesday, 9 October @ 10:30 am - 1:00 pm
Oct 09

Progressive Yom Kippur Musaf Service

Wednesday, 9 October @ 1:30 pm - 2:30 pm
Oct 09

Progressive Yom Kippur Mincha, Yizkor & Closing Services

Wednesday, 9 October @ 5:00 pm - 8:10 pm
View more...

Events


Dec 29

Hanukkah Picnic 2019

Sunday, 29 December @ 11:30 am - 4:00 pm
Mar 08

Purim Picnic 2020

Sunday, 8 March, 2020 @ 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Jul 03

175th anniversary weekend

Friday, 3 July, 2020 - Sunday, 5 July, 2020

Upcoming Tours


Oct 13

Tour of Hobart Synagogue

Sunday, 13 October @ 11:00 am
Oct 17

Tour of Hobart Synagogue

Thursday, 17 October @ 6:30 pm

To book a new tour or apply to join an existing one, please read our tour information page, from which you can complete a tour booking form.